migrant pen

Notes, recollections, and essays on the life of a migrant.


Hola, my name is José. I am a 25-year-old Spaniard living and working in the United States. I am an idealist and a public transit enthusiast. As a result of Facebook ad targeting algorithms, I found out about Amtrak’s 50th-anniversary sale at the end of April 2021. As soon as I heard about it, I built a whole plan to travel the country by train as I work remotely.


I decided to build this site so that I could share my experiences with my loved ones and everyone interested. I also built this site so that I could get myself to engage in reflection and meditation through writing.


I plan to share essays and writings in both English and Spanish as I visit the locations highlighted in this map. If any of this sounds interesting to you, you are completely welcome to read as much as you like!




Graduation picture May 2019
This is probably my most recent accomplishment when I finished my degree during the Spring of 2019


A little bit more about me:


Passionate about communication

I am a linguistics aficionado. I have studied 6 different languages and speak 4 of them semi-fluently.

connecting in a disconnected world

I love connecting with other individuals through language and through sharing experiences and finding commonalities

Where is Home?

I arrived in the United States to attend my undergraduate degree at Brown University. I received degrees in International Relations and Economics and I currently work at a New York nonprofit organization.